Erdut was first mentioned in 1335 as Erdod or Erdewd. The renowned wines of the local wine-cellars and large wooden casks are well-known among wine connoisseurs. The largest cask, made of 150-year old oak-wood, with a content of 75,000 l, was included in the Guinness Book of Records. The beauty and attractiveness of the wine-growing countryside and the hilly landscape above the Danube have made Erdut a popular excursion destination of the Osijek and Vukovar citizens.
In Erdut’s county there is a place Aljmas, a well-known Marian shrine of Our Lady of Sanctuary, built in 1708. Believers have been pilgrimaging to this far-famed shrine for the Feast of the Assumption (August 15) since 1704. In the municipality area there are several very attractive hunting and fishing grounds, as well as weekend houses, apartments, rooms and tourist-catering establishments.
The picturesque loess elevations rising above the Danube, between Aljmas and Erdut, are protected as important landscape. The loess deposits on the remains of old elevations have reached greater heights, and the slopes toward the Danube are cut sharply and rise up to 70 meters above the river.
The medieval town is now only a ruin.